News

Mister Culture Code

Mister Culture Code - Simon Sagmeister

Mister Culture Code – Interview with Simon Sagmeister

by Rebekka Moser

 

The quintessence for a company’s success in an increasingly digitalized world is supposedly simple enough. Values and attitudes determine a business’s future—to be competitive means looking out for your company’s soul. Many books have been written on corporate culture, but the critics have found none to be user-friendly as that by Simon Sagmeister, a practitioner writing for other practitioners. Our correspondent asked the innovative management consultant what his interpretation of Business Culture Design can bring to everyday work.

 

Mr. Sagmeister, why should my boss read your book?

I’m sure that your boss, too, is far from indifferent to how his company or his department runs. The good news is that culture isn’t an accident! The book shows up ways to actively design the mindsets of organizations. What’s more, your boss will find the book to be full of examples and anecdotes from a huge variety of businesses. But the book is meant to be entertaining, too. I can even imagine it as beach reading.

 

One of your book’s highlights is the Culture Map. Could you explain that term?

The problem with corporate culture is: In discussions, culture often remains unclear, vague, nebulous. The Culture Map helps us visualize cultural patterns. We make culture concrete, something that can be discussed and this consciously designed.

 

This year, your book is going to be published in the US, Japan, and China. Aren’t corporate cultures different there?

 There’s no such thing as a single, correct corporate culture anyhow, no matter on which continent. Developing culture must go hand in hand with specific strategic and entrepreneurial challenges. The culture map shops which evolved, inherited cultural patterns are likely to be successful in a specific instance, and which ones had better be scrutinized.

 

No improvement without prior analysis—what’s your practical advice?

It’s always interesting to talk to staff who have only been with the company for a month or two. They’ve not yet fully taken the culture on board and are able to remark on things that are considered normal in the culture. That can help you to critically examine habitual ways of thinking and established ways of doing things.

 

What counts when looking forward?

Corporate culture has come to occupy a more prominent place than it used to. It’s an issue that has made it all the way to the executive floor. And there are at least tow reasons for that. In a VUCA world— Volatile, Uncertain, Complex, and Ambiguous—the classical model of leadership by command and control has less and less chance of succeeding. Which makes it all the more important to design a culture that makes the right decisions by itself and is quick to learn and thus to grow. And second, culture is one of the key criteria in choosing an employer—to many, it’s far more important than the pay packet.

 

Which leadership type is the most successful?

Leadership isn’t really that much of question of types. But what we can observe is leadership by offering purpose and a sense of humanity is moving center stage. A new generation of high performers expects nothing less—and a good dose of autonomy into the bargain. Individuals or small teams have a greater part to play in modern organizations than they used to. Leadership needs to account for that.

 

What does digital transformation mean for corporate culture?

We conducted a study in which we compared the cultural patterns of Silicon Valley tech companies with traditional champions in these parts, and they reveal striking differences. Venerable firms still have a lot of Taylorism in their DNA, which is particularly apparent when you look at how they deal with errors or absorb new lessons. Or as far as agility is concerned. Or how companies treat their own vision—assuming they even have one.

 

Is there a corporate transformation that you personally find particularly impressive?

The family business that my parents used to run and that is now run by my brother was founded in 1844 and is now in its sixth generation. Each time a new generation took over—at the latest—was a time to reinvent itself. It has always succeeded in finding a place and, in doing so, remaining true to itself and its values.

 

 

Download PDF (in German)

Cookie Settings

Listed here are all the cookies used for our marketing purposes.
Google Analytics (cn_AnalyticsActive)
Used to send data to Google Analytics about the visitor's device and behaviour. Tracks the visitor across devices and marketing channels.

Interview

Mister Culture Code

Mister Culture Code - Simon Sagmeister

Mister Culture Code – Interview mit Simon Sagmeister

von Rebekka Moser

 

Die Quintessenz für den Erfolg eines Unternehmens in der zunehmend digitalisierten Welt ist angeblich einfach. Die Zukunft eines Betriebes bestimmen Werte und Haltungen – wer wettbewerbsfähig bleiben möchte, achtet bewusst auf die Seele seines Unternehmens. Viele Bücher wurden zur Unternehmenskultur schon geschrieben, keines ist laut Kritikern so Anwenderfreundlich wie das des Bregenzers Simon Sagmeister, der aus der Praxis für die Praxis schreibt. Die Vorarlbergerin hat beim innovativen Managementberater nachgefragt, was seine Interpretation des „Business Culture Design” im Alltag leisten kann.

 

Herr Sagmeister, warum sollte mein Chef Ihr Buch lesen?

Auch Ihrem Chef ist es sicher nicht egal, wie sein Unternehmen – oder sein Bereich – tickt. Die gute Nachricht ist: Kultur ist kein Zufall! Im Buch zeigen wir Wege, das Mindset von Organisationen aktiv zu gestalten. Ausserdem findet Ihr Chef im Buch viele Beispiele und Anekdoten aus unterschiedlichsten Unternehmen. Das Buch soll auch unterhalten und sogar als Urlaubsliteratur durchgehen.

 

Ein Highlight Ihres Buches ist die Culture Map, was genau kann man sich darunter vorstellen?

Das Problem bei Unternehmenskultur ist: Häufig bleibt Kultur in Diskussionen schwammig und nebulös. Mit der Culture Map visualisieren wir Kulturmuster. Wir machen Kultur konkret, diskutierbar und damit bewusst gestaltbar.

 

Ihr Buch erscheint dieses Jahr auch in den USA, Japan und China. Sind die Unternehmenskulturen dort nicht andere?

Die eine, richtige Unternehmenskultur gibt es ohnehin nicht – egal auf welchem Kontinent. Kultur-Entwicklung muss eng mit den spezifischen strategischen und organisatorischen Herausforderungen

einhergehen. Die Culture Map zeigt, welche gewachsenen Kulturmuster im konkreten Fall weiterhin Erfolg versprechen, und welche man tatsächlich hinterfragen muss.

 

Vor jeder Verbesserung steht die Analyse. Tipps für die Praxis?

Es ist immer interessant, mit Mitarbeitern zu diskutieren, die erst seit ein paar Monaten im Unternehmen sind. Die sind von der Kultur noch nicht vollständig angesteckt. Ihnen fallen Dinge als ungewöhnlich auf, die in der Kultur als normal gelten. Das kann helfen, eingefahrene Denkmuster und etablierte Gepflogenheiten kritisch zu hinterfragen.

 

Was zählt für den Blick nach vorne?

Unternehmenskultur hat heute einen anderen Stellenwert als früher. Das Thema ist in den Vorstandsetagen angekommen. Und zwar aus mindestens zwei Gründen: In einer «VUCA–Welt»,die volatil, unsicher, komplex und widersprüchlich ist, funktioniert klassische Command-and-Control-Führung immer weniger. Vielmehr geht es darum, eine Kultur zu gestalten, die selbst die richtigen Entscheidungen trifft und schnell lernen, also sich weiterentwickeln kann. Und zweitens ist Kultur eines der wichtigsten Kriterien bei der Wahl des Arbeitgebers – für viele weit wichtiger als der Gehalt.

 

Welcher Führungstyp ist der erfolgreichste?

Führung ist gar nicht so sehr eine Typ-Frage. Wir sehen aber, dass Führung durch Sinn und Menschlichkeit wieder mehr in den Mittelpunkt rückt. Insbesondere die neue Generation an Leistungsträgern erwartet das – verbunden mit einer gehörigen Portion Autonomie. Einzelne Personen oder kleine Teams haben in modernen Organisationen mehr Einfluss als früher. Dem muss Führung Rechnung tragen.

 

Was bedeutet die digitale Transformation für die Unternehmenskultur?

Wir haben in einer Studie die Kulturmuster von Silicon Valley Unternehmen mit jenen der traditionellen Champions in unseren Breitengraden verglichen. Es zeigen sich signifikante Unterschiede. Die altehrwürdigen Unternehmen haben noch viel Taylorismus in ihrer kulturellen DNA. Das wird zum Beispiel in der Fehler- und Lernkultur deutlich. Oder beim Thema Agilität. Oder darin, wie die Unternehmen mit ihrer Vision umgehen – und ob sie überhaupt eine haben.

 

Welche Unternehmens-Transformation hat Sie persönlich sehr beeindruckt?

Das Familienunternehmen, das meine Eltern geführt haben und heute mein Bruder führt, besteht seit 1844 in sechster Generation. Spätestens mit jedem Generationswechsel hat es sich immer irgendwie neu erfunden. Es hat immer wieder seinen Platz gefunden – und ist sich selbst und seinen Werten dabei treu geblieben.

 

Interview als PDF downloaden

Cookie Settings

Aufgelistet hier sind alle Cookies die für Marketing Zwecke genutzt werden.
Google Analytics (cn_AnalyticsActive)
Wird verwendet um Daten über das Nutzerverhalten und das Gerät des Nutzers an Google Analytics zu senden. Trackt den Besucher über verschiedene Geräte und Marketing Kanäle